ECHO logo

Olivia Rodrigo Returns for Seconds with “Bad Idea Right?”

After giving fans time to sink their teeth into her single, “vampire,” Olivia Rodrigo is making a dramatic shift with her follow-up, “Bad Idea Right?” 

In the riotous track, the GRAMMY®-winner considers getting back together with an ex through a feverish, humorous, and confessional inner monologue.

“‘bad idea right?’ started with us making a joke song about me hooking up with an ex-boyfriend, but then we realized we were actually onto something,” Rodrigo says of the process. “We were throwing the weirdest things at the wall — in one of choruses there’s a part that sounds like an instrument in the background, but it’s me gradually screaming louder and louder.”

The dizzying production was designed by frequent collaborator Daniel Nigro.

The release is paired with a video directed by another frequent collaborator, Petra Collins. The reckless early-’90s-inspired horror-comedy features real-life friends Tate McRae, Iris Apatow, and Madison Hu. The video follows Rodrigo as she takes a treacherous journey back to an ex’s house against her better judgment.

Both songs will be featured on Rodrigo’s upcoming sophomore album GUTS, due out via Geffen Records on September 8. 

Tracklist for GUTS

1. all-american bitch

2. bad idea right?

3. vampire

4. lacy

5. ballad of a homeschooled girl

6. making the bed

7. logical

8. get him back!

9. love is embarrassing

10. the grudge

11. pretty isn’t pretty

12. teenage dream