Kygo’s Self-Titled Album: A Summer Solstice Soundtrack Featuring Star-Studded Collaborations

Kygo’s signature sound has returned just in time for summer, offering a blazing auditory experience.

His newly released self-titled album, dropped just in time for summer, is classic Kygo. While he may not venture into uncharted musical territories, he breathes fresh life into his characteristic style, creating a familiar and comforting landscape where his piano melodies sparkle like morning dew on flowers.

This self-titled work pulses with themes of growth, serving as both a reflection and exploration of Kygo’s artistic evolution. Each track stands as its own unique universe, yet they collectively weave a narrative of love, loss, and euphoric redemption.

For example, in the synthwave-inspired track “Surrender,” Kygo increases the tempo to capture the essence of falling deeply and hopelessly in love. Fred Well’s lyrics speak to a love so powerful it feels overwhelming.

Fans of Kygo’s hallmark sound will be drawn to “Me Before You,” a heartfelt dance anthem featuring English singer-songwriter Plested. The lush production provides an escape from past sorrows, each chord resonating like a heartbeat clinging to a love that promises redemption. True to his style, the rest of the album features high-profile collaborations. Kygo teams up with the Jonas Brothers, Julia Michaels, Ava Max, and disco legend Nile Rodgers, among others. He also includes his popular remix of M83’s “Wait,” which first appeared on SoundCloud in March 2014.

To celebrate the album’s release, Kygo and his team filmed a special live performance on Troll’s Tongue, a cliff overlooking Norway’s beautiful Ringedalsvatnet lake. The video features several of the album’s collaborators, including Sigrid, Zak Abel, HAYLA, and Sandro Cavazza.