Avril Lavigne Releases Second Single and Announces Track List For New Album “Head Above Water”

Avril Lavigne is back with her second single off her upcoming new album Head Above Water. Lavigne released “Tell Me It’s Over” as well as the music video along with it. 

In the video it shows Lavigne shutting the door on her Hot Topic days with a lush, Dusty Springfield-like R&B ballad that puts love on the rocks. 

“But every time you touch me / I forget what we’re fighting about / Oh, you come and you leave / Shame on me for believing every word out of your mouth,” she belts on the track, which will appear on her album due out February 15th, 2019. 

The video shows the twice married Lavigne, who also sports a Springfield-like 1960’s hairdo, sharing a love filled Christmas with her beau before things starting falling apart and he smashes her phone on the ground amid another fight. “Tell me it’s over / If it’s really over / ‘Cause it don’t feel like it’s over whenever you’re closing the door, no / So tell me it’s over,” she belts as the song builds to a sweeping crescendo. 

“Tell Me It’s Over’ is an anthem about being strong, finally putting your foot down and closing the door on a relationship that you know is wrong after time and time again of falling for their games,” said Lavigne in a statement.

“If someone doesn’t treat you the way you deserve to be treated, don’t put up with it. It’s understandably so hard because in the past every time you saw them, they sucked you in and you fell right back into their web, but not anymore starting now!” she continued. “The vocals and the lyrics are very vulnerable which is reflective of the feelings I had in relationships like these. I wanted to write something classic and have been inspired by some of the timeless queens I listen to everyday at home, Billie Holiday, Ella Fitzgerald, Aretha Franklin and Etta James. They represent women who stand up for women and aren’t going to put up with a man’s bullshit anymore!” Lavigne said. 

Watch the video for Lavigne’s new song “Tell Me It’s Over” now! Also, take a look at the track listing for Lavigne’s new album Head Above Water

Head Above Water track listing:

“Head Above Water”


“I Fell In Love With The Devil”

“Tell Me It’s Over”

“Dumb Blonde”

“It Was In Me”




“Bigger Wow”

“Love Me Insane”